idiosyncraticfashion

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Patriotic Because Of Fashion

with 4 comments

amica october

AMICA October 2009

l'officiel october

L’OFFICIEL October 2009

style singapore october

STYLE: October 2009

SB1009_Cover.indd

HARPER’S BAZAAR October 2009

I’m not the most patriotic person in this country, but I have to say this. I really appreciate the people working behind all these magazines, because I love me some local fashion magazines. Although I do buy foreign ones quite a bit, I have never missed buying local magazines ever since I became a total convert to fashion late last year. Although I had been interested in fashion since like 3-4 years ago, it’s only last year that I summoned the courage to buy fashion magazines. It’s not really the most in-thing to do actually. Except for when there’s celebrity covers(for STYLE:), I’ve bought each issue diligently. So, G, I remembered you saying you don’t like local magazines, but I beg to differ. I love reading them.

And although 3 out of 4 are imports, I love the the fact that they are adapted, and almost exclusively are shot with models based in Singapore, though not necessarily locals. I love the Natashas and Raquels, but sometimes, I like looking at new faces too. Since most of the models are just based here for a few months, it’s fun to spot out models that you think will land in NY and make it big.

CHEERS TO LOCAL FASHION MAGAZINES!

Written by asyrafny

October 2, 2009 at 1:18 pm

Posted in Local, Magazine

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Style and Bazzar always got the best cover here =)

    Test Shoot Gallery

    October 3, 2009 at 1:41 am

    • I agree, but I will always have a soft spot for AMICA covers. I like their simplicity…

      asyrafny

      October 3, 2009 at 2:02 pm

  2. Asyraf, i have to agree with you. in fact, I kinda find our local magazine’s quality are improving so so much. And an asian on the cover on our harper’s bazaar is like a wish come true. No asian landed a cover for like a few years, and this year, we’ve got TWO! (lucy liu on aug, and this wang xiao on oct)

    TraiT

    October 7, 2009 at 8:52 am

  3. Well I do look at Men’s Folio and do not hate it. But do you seriously want to channel Singapore into America Vogue??

    G

    October 11, 2009 at 8:03 am


Leave a Reply

